Antebellum Mason County Courthouse Part of Historic Downtown Maysville, Ky.

Mason County Courthouse – Maysville, Ky.
Maysville is one of the great hidden treasures in Kentucky. If you haven’t been to Maysville, you owe yourself the trip.

Mason County is named after founding father and namesake of college basketball bracket-buster George Mason. The area was settled early – Christopher Gist settled the area in 1751, with Simon Kenton and Thomas Williams among the first permanent settlers. While conflicts with natives made the area a dangerous place for settlers early on, Maysville would later enjoy a nationwide reputation as a harbor town and port. The town was originally called Limestone, leading to the naming of Limestone Street in Lexington. The road between Maysville and Lexington was among the most heavily travelled routes in Kentucky during the era of the steamboat.

Maysville retains much of its historic character. The area surrounding the courthouse is filled with beautiful historic homes. This Greek revival courthouse was completed in 1846, and was constructed in anticipation of the county seat being relocated to Maysville.