2013 BGT Preservation Award Recipients Include the Kaintuckeean!

We won!! I’m honored to have received the Lucy Graves Advocacy Award yesterday evening at The Blue Grass Trust’s Annual Preservation Awards Dinner!

The full list of recipients follows:

Preservation Craftsman Awards: Given to a building industry craftsman who has exhibited a strong commitment to quality craftsmanship for historic buildings.
To: George Neel; Prajna Design (Garry Murphy and David Wittmer)

Public Service to Preservation Awards: Given to a government agency or official for service to preservation movement or to a specific project.
To: Dr. Derek Paulsen, LFCUG Commissioner of Planning; Janet Graham, LFUCG Commissioner of Law.

Clay Lancaster Heritage Education Award: Given to an individual or group for service in researching and disseminating information about the Central Kentucky region.
To: Bluegrass Renaissance: The History and Culture of Central Kentucky, 1792-1852; accepting: Daniel Rowland and James Klotter, editors, and the essayists

Community Preservation Award: Given to a non-governmental organization or individual for service to the preservation movement or to a specific project.
To: North Limestone Neighborhood Association.

Barbara Hulette Award: For efforts in the preservation of central Kentucky’s history, heritage, built environment, landscape, archaeological resources, sense of community or significant endeavors. To: Ashland Park Neighborhood Association; accepting: Rev. Bob Sessum, Wanda Jaquith, Tony Chamblin

Lucy Shropshire Crump Award: Given to an individual who has provided exemplary service to the Blue Grass Trust throughout the year.
To: Estill Curtis Pennington

Lucy Graves Advocacy Award: Given to an individual or group that has exhibited advocacy leadership in supporting the historic preservation movement in central Kentucky.
To: Peter Brackney for Kaintuckeean blog

Betty Hoopes Volunteer Service Award: Given to a volunteer from the Antiques and Garden Show Committee.
To: Brenda Pettit

Clyde Reynolds Carpenter Adaptive Re-use Award: Given to an individual or group for outstanding efforts towards the rehabilitation and adaptive re-use of a building or buildings within Central Kentucky.
To: The Bread Box; accepting: Ben Self, Brady Barlow and Joe Kuosman

Landscape Preservation Awards: This new award is given to an individual or group for the preservation, design, stewardship, restoration or enhancement of an historic cultural landscape in the Bluegrass.
To: Vaucluse (Clay Hancock); Botherum (Jon Carloftis and Dale Fisher); The Garden of Dorothy Crutcher Cordray (Joseph Hillenmeyer Garden Design)

John Wesley Hunt Award: Given to an individual for lifetime service to the preservation movement in Central Kentucky.
To: H. Foster Pettit

Congratulations to all these great recipients!

Leave a Reply